Last night my flatmates and I decided to watch the Swedish language film of “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”, entitled “Man Som Hatar Kvinnor.” It’s really interesting that the Swedish title translates to “Men Who Hate Women”, a much more accurate way of summarizing the book – Lisbeth’s dragon tattoo barely figures into the plot of the first book.

In any case, we all really enjoyed the movie. It paid remarkable attention to detail and stayed true to the book’s crucial themes. My flatmate E, who hails from Singapore, found some of the scenes shocking and hard to watch, but liked the movie overall. My other flatmate R is a dramatic writing major, and truly appreciated the cinematography and art direction that the movie offered. I think we all took different things from it.

Today I finished “The Girl who Played with Fire” at long last. I’ve been working at it, piecemeal, for a month. I liked it better than the first book, mostly because I felt more comfortable with the characters and setting. Lisbeth and Mikael are old friends now.

I think this book lacks some of the shock value of the first, but it still packs a punch. It’s main draw is that the reader gets to learn more about Lisbeth’s background, which has been obscured from the very beginning of TGWTDT. I was gratified to find that her past was fittingly disturbing to match her character.

